Search
  • My Free From Kitchen

A few tips I wish someone told me when I started my journey

Hi all,

Hope you all had a great weekend. I have so many people ask me what is good to know when started a GF journey, this can be applied to any Free From. After some research and thinking I have compiled this:


1) Get used to reading food labels when you shop.

All packaged food in the UK and the EU is covered by a law on allergen labelling, meaning you can tell whether or not a product is suitable for a gluten-free diet by reading the ingredients list. If a cereal containing gluten has been used as an ingredient in the product, it must be listed in the ingredients list (no matter how little is used).


2) Remember lots of foods are naturally gluten-free

Fresh fruit and vegetables, meat, poultry, fish, cheese and eggs are naturally gluten-free, so use these as the basis to your meals.


3) Be aware of cross contamination

Even a tiny bit of gluten can be enough to cause symptoms for someone with coeliac disease, so make sure you minimise the risk of cross contamination with gluten-containing foods. Do this by washing down kitchen surfaces before use, using separate butters, spreads and jams to minimise the spread of crumbs and invest in some toaster bags to keep your gluten-free bread separate.


4) Avoid sauces containing gluten

Lots of pasta sauces, gravies, stocks and condiments contain wheat flour, and therefore gluten, so ensure you read the label and exclude anything that isn’t suitable. Instead, try making your own pasta sauces and gravies using cornflour, arrowroot or potato starch to thicken them for a gluten-free option.


5) Remember you can still enjoy meals out with family and friends

Being on a gluten-free diet doesn’t mean that you can’t eat out check out Coeliac UK’s online venue guide to see where you can eat out gluten-free.


6) Know which alcohol to avoid

Gluten-free alcohol includes cider, wine, sherry, spirits, port and liqueurs, but remember that beer, lagers, stouts and ales contain varying amounts of gluten and are not suitable for a gluten-free diet. Gluten-free beers are available in some supermarkets and restaurants, but make sure you only drink those that are labelled in this way.  


ref: https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/howto/guide/top-10-tips-gluten-free-diet


Thank you all for reading

MFFK



0 views

©2018 by My Free From Kitchen. Proudly created with Wix.com         058-233944 Registered